July 2, 2012

My last blog was about the Fourteenth Presidential Election. The two principal contestants in this poll, the Government’s nominee, Pranab Mukherji, and the Opposition’s nominee, Purno Sangma, have filed their nominations last week.


Tracing briefly the history of the earlier elections, I had pointed out that in all the earlier thirteen elections, the only occasion when the President was elected unopposed was in 1977.



I am reminiscing in this blog about 1977, a year that came in the wake of a 19-month Emergency, an Emergency during which the nation had experienced ruthless suppression of civil liberties not seen even during British rule.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *